My Unfavorite Things

Here’s a song by Jessadriel Darkmountain (to the tune of “My Favorite
Things” from the Sound of Music):

My Unfavorite Things

Bright clashing colors, machines that keep beeping,
Phones and alarm clocks that ring when I’m sleeping,
Getting told off when I’m scattered or late,
These are a few of the things that I hate.
Tags in my clothing and seams in my stocking,
Those who say “teasing” when really it’s “mocking”,
Fluorescent flicker and noises that grate:
These are a few of the things that I hate.

Too many people in too small a room,
Vile reeking chemicals mis-named “perfume”,
Voices too loud and weird food on my plate,
These are a few of the things that I hate.

Being expected to follow the fashions,
Not being able to share my true passions,
People who bitch when I perseverate,
These are a few of the things that I hate.

Indirect questions and vague explanations,
Having to smile when I’m losing my patience,
Looks of disdain if I stim while I wait,
These are a few of the things that I hate.

When my hands flap, when my voice fails,
When I’m meltdown-mad,
I simply remember – I could be NT (ack!) –
And then I don’t feel so bad!

© 2/10/04 Jessadriel Darkmountain

(Per Jessadriel: “Feel free to send it around wherever you wish, as
long as my name stays on it.”)

One Response to “My Unfavorite Things”

  1. awalkabout Says:

    *chuckles* What a list. Thanks for sharing this. Food for thought.


Leave a Reply

