Looking for Book Recommendations

I love to read (have I mentioned that I am a Janeite already? 🙂 ), and I love to share my faves.  I’d like to expand my list of faves, so please share your favorite reads – the books that help you balance the humor in this crazy life – the books that leave you inspired, feeling better about life and your place in it.

My top recomendation?  The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom.  It is my all time favorite book and I have given out so many copies to friends over the years.  If you haven’t read – YOU MUST!!!  It is about a Dutch “elderly” spinster, living with her older sister and father, above their clock shop during World War II.  They participate in the resistance movement by hiding Jews in their home… well, I won’t share more or else I’d ruin the story for you.  It is an easy read and chock full of inspiration, charity, values, and heart.  I find something extraordinary in this book every time I read it.  The last time I read it it was with the perspective of a parent of a child with disabilities – and it helped my perspective develop in a better direction.

Please, share your faves with me in the comments – I’d love to find some new favorites!  Thank you, and peace to you all!

10 Responses to “Looking for Book Recommendations”

  1. asdmommy Says:

    Well, it’s not exactly HUMOR, but I enjoy most anything by Jodi Picoult. It gets me thinking deeply about some issue other than what’s going on in my own life. And for humor, you can’t go wrong with Jennifer Weiner (sp?). A bit trashy at times, but always entertaining. But the stack of non-fiction stuff is piling up on my bedside – I go through phases, and plan to get caught up on all the autism and health reading I’ve been putting aside in favor of fiction lately!

  2. Arti Says:

    Since you’re a Janeite, I highly recommend Lori Smith’s A Walk With Jane Austen, it’s a real life account. Also, if you’re into memoir, I’ve recently read When Did You Last See Your Father, and was deeply moved. You might want to read it and watch the movie adaptation of it, starring Colin Firth. I’ve written a book / movie review on it.

    Also, some time ago I read an impressive book about a youth with Asperger syndrome which you might be interested in: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon. I’m curious to know if this fiction is an accurate depiction of a real life condition.

  3. monkeysmomma Says:

    Oh my! Where to start? My favorite author is Beverly Lewis, who writes about the Amish. I usually finish her books in 2 days. I also like Jodi Picoult. To see more of my faves, go to my site and check out my Shelfari bookshelf. Be sure to hit the “next” button on the bottom. So far I have 3 shelves filled.

  4. 1in150 Says:

    A pretty funny book I read last year is “Early Bird” by Rodney Rothman. He’s a former write for Letterman. He decides to live in a retirement community for a while even though he’s pretty young and it’s a pretty quick and funny read. Another good book is “But Enough About Me” by Jancee Dunn. She tells humorous stories about her quirky family and her years writing for Rolling Stone magazine.

  5. robinaltman Says:

    I can’t help seizing this opportunity. Call me skuzzy, if you will. I just published a humorous book called “Shrink Rap – An Irreverent Take on Child Psychiatry”. It’s very funny (if I do say so, myself), easy to read, and teaches stuff all parents should know about Child Psychiatry. And if you think Child Psychiatry can’t be funny – think again! 🙂 You can get it on Amazon or go to http://www.shrinkrapbook.com. You can blame asdmommy for this shameless plug. I found your blog through her website.

  6. goodmum Says:

    I’m Canadian, so I try to read Canadian authors whenever I can. Two of my favourites are The Birth House, by Ami Mckay, and A Complicated Kindness, by Miriam Toews. Another book I just finished was The Art of Keeping Secrets (not Canadian), by Patti Callahan Henry.

    I read a lot too! In fact, about a book per week.

  7. ctincknell Says:

    Thanks for the comment! Try ‘The Jane Austen Book Club’ by Karen Joy Fowler – I bet you’ll love it 🙂

  8. lookingforlifeshumor Says:

    I saw the movie “The Jane Austn Book Club” and yes – I loved it!!! Thanks for the recommendations – these are great!

  9. Toby Says:

    Not sure if it’s really your thing or not, but I’ve just finished reading the Crap Old Days (www.thecrapolddays.com) which is a funny look at nostalgia. Actually had me laughing and grinning like a loon, which is very rare.


Leave a Reply

