Old Tummy

Recently I had an appointment with the doctor and I had to bring my youngest son with me.  While we were waiting (not so patiently) in the examination room, I leaned back on the examination table and my son (who of course insisted on sitting right next to me on the examination table) flopped across my middle and then lifted my shirt up to reveal my tummy.

     “No zerberts,” I told him, hoping to avoid the obnoxious raspberry sounds.

“Mommy,” he said as he looked up to my face. “Your tummy is old.”  He ran his fingers over my stretch marks.  “You have wrinkles on your belly!”  His face was all amazement and wonder.

     “Yes,” I said “I got those when I carried you in my belly, silly.” 

He appeared to consider this for a moment, then asked… “Do they hurt?”

     I sighed.  “Only when you talk about them.”

Here’s to all of the Moms out there with stretch marks and “old” bellies.  You wear badges of honor, ladies!!!

6 Responses to “Old Tummy”

  1. awalkabout Says:

    Hahaha! This cracked me up. It was like Little Miss, who saw me with a headband this week, exposing my poor old roots, and she said, “Mom! You cut your hair gray!” I made an appt for the hairdresser immediately!!

  2. Jayne Says:

    As I get ready to turn 40 in less than a month, the reality of my age and my body’s age is coming through loud and clear. It’s official, I’m my mother!
    Stretch marks, roots, cellulite, bags under my eyes, flabby arms – mmmmm, wish I could solely blame the autism but I think I’m a tad guilty too….

    Jayne
    the view from my shoes

  3. Arti Says:

    Another reason why I love your blog!

  4. rhemashope Says:

    Oh honey, your son would probably think I was 200 years old if he saw my “old” tummy. Nothin’ but stretch marks!

  5. rhemashope Says:

    In reference to your Here Be Dragons post-
    I don’t know if you’ve ever visited the blog Bring The Rain. Her latest post made me think of you and many others.
    Go to: http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/

  6. rhemashope Says:

    In reference to your Here Be Dragons post-
    I don’t know if you’ve ever visited the blog Bring The Rain. Her latest post made me think of you and many more. Go to: http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

