Felted Christmas Ornaments

The crafting bug has really bitten this time… and I’ve totally gotten into making felted Christmas ornaments (I took a class last weekend).  In fact, it has become a bit addictive.  Here’s a sample (a bit out of focus) of some of the ornaments I’ve made so far.  I haven’t wired them for hanging yet… but will do that soon.

I love how these feel as I work on them – all soft and cozy.  My son (with Autism) loves the feel of the finished product.  He also loves to finger the roving that I use in the felting process (and roll it into little balls, and tear it into tiny pieces, and form a faux-beard with it…).  His sensory needs seem to be satisfied as he explores the textures he gets as he plays.  Extra bonus?  I get to actually finish a project while he is in the room.  Win – Win!

My relatives had better watch out – it will be a felty Christmas this year!!!

fall-2008-0271

3 Responses to “Felted Christmas Ornaments”

  1. Beth Says:

    I’m so glad you posted a picture! They’re very, very cool.

  2. CHAD Says:

    Thanks for this wonderful post! I really can’t belive it’s almost Christmas. Sants and cookies here I come!

  3. Humidity Temperature : Says:

    well it is nearing for us to buy some christmas ornaments for the coming christmas~;”


Leave a Reply

